Net-net on my background in PR and Marketing

I realize I got a little CV-winded with my personal history of “Been there, done that, designed the T-shirt,”  so I’ll summarize.

I’ve been on both the buy-side and the sell-side of PR. Specifically:

Buy side:   As a writer/journalist/pundit, I’ve literally heard hundreds (if not thousands) of PR pitches over the years.  The good (rare), the bad (more often) and the ugly (oh, and it was ugggly).

During the dot.com era I also bought PR services from no-name and name-brand firms, and hired PR and marketing people.

Sell side: I also pitched my share of stories to the media during dot.com when I was at DIGEX and SkyCache/Cidera, plus I did a whole bunch of marketing… We did some legendary parties back in the SkyCache/Cidera days and hired Penn & Teller to perfrom at InterOp in Atlanta one year.

Alas, I could pass Penn on the street today and he wouldn’t know me…

Leave a Reply

